The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Southwark covers the London boroughs south of the Thames, the County of Kent and the Medway Unitary Authority.

The Most Reverend John Wilson

Appointed Archbishop of Southwark Monday, 10th June 2019;
Installed on Thursday 25th July 2019.

Contact to Archbishop John:

Archbishop’s House
150 St George’s RoadLondon


The diocese is divided into three pastoral areas and 20 deaneries, each of which contain a number of parishes:

South East Pastoral Area: 66 parishes
Bexley: Bexley; Bexleyheath; Blackfen; Bostall Park; Crayford; Erith; Sidcup; Thamesmead South; Welling.
Bromley: Anerley; Beckenham; Biggin Hill; Bromley; Bromley Common; Chislehurst; Chislehurst West; Farnborough; Hayes; Orpington; Petts Wood; St Mary and St Paul’s Cray; West Wickham.
Camberwell: Camberwell; Dulwich; Dulwich Wood Park; Nunhead; Peckham; Peckham Rye.
Greenwich: Abbey Wood–St Benet’s; Abbey Wood–St David’s; Blackheath; Charlton; Eltham; Eltham Well Hall; Greenwich; Greenwich East; Kidbrooke; Mottingham; Plumstead; Plumstead Common; Shooters Hill; Thamesmead Central; Woolwich.
Lambeth: Brixton; Brixton Hill; Clapham; Clapham Park; Italian Mission; Norbury; Norwood West; Herne Hill; Stockwell; Streatham; Streatham Hill; Vauxhall; Waterloo.
Lewisham: Beckenham Hill; Brockley; Catford; Deptford; Downham; Forest Hill; Lee; Lewisham; Sydenham; Sydenham Kirkdale.
South West Pastoral Area: 64 parishes
Balham: Balham; Battersea Park; Battersea West; Clapham Common; Earlsfield; Tooting; Tooting Bec; Wandsworth; Wandsworth East Hill.
Cathedral: Cathedral; Bermondsey–Dockhead; Bermondsey–Melior Street; Bermondsey South; Borough; Kennington Park; Rotherhithe; Surrey Docks; Walworth.
Croydon: Addiscombe; Coulsdon; Croydon South; Croydon West; New Addington; Norwood South; Norwood Upper; Old Coulsdon; Purley; Sanderstead; Selsdon; Thornton Heath; Waddon.
Kingston: Chessington; Kingston; Kingston Hill; New Malden; Norbiton; Surbiton; Tolworth.
Merton: Colliers Wood; Merton; Mitcham; Morden; Pollards Hill; Tooting (Links Road); Wimbledon; Wimbledon Park; Wimbledon South.
Mortlake: Barnes; East Sheen; Ham; Kew Gardens; Mortlake; Putney; Richmond; Roehampton; Wimbledon Common.
Sutton: Carshalton; Carshalton Beeches; Cheam; North Cheam; Sutton; Sutton Green; Wallington; Worcester Park.
Kent Pastoral Area: 50 parishes
Canterbury: Ashford; Ashford South; Canterbury; Faversham; Herne Bay; Hersden; Whitstable.
Chatham: Chatham; Gillingham; Parkwood and Wigmore; Rainham; Rochester; Sheppey; Sittingbourne; Strood; Walderslade.
Dover: Aylesham; Buckland; Deal; Dover; Folkestone; Folkestone West; Hythe; Mongeham.
Gravesend: Dartford; Dartford–St Vincent’s; Gravesend; Hartley; Meopham; Northfleet; Swanley.
Maidstone: Bearsted and Harrietsham; Cranbrook; Goudhurst; Maidstone; Maidstone South; Tenterden; West Malling.
Thanet: Birchington and Westgate; Margate and Cliftonville; Broadstairs; Ramsgate and Minster.
Tunbridge Wells: Edenbridge; Paddock Wood; Pembury; Sevenoaks; Southborough; Tonbridge; Tunbridge Wells; Westerham.

For more information about our Archdiocese please visit Archdiocese website.